Advantages of running a cardano-node

I’m trying to setup a cardano-node on a VPS believing it will enable me to do some stacking. Is that correct ?

And what other advantages is there to run a cardano-node on a VPS?

If you just want to stake you don’t need to run a node, just delegate to an existing pool. Running a pool just for your own stake will not be cost effective unless you are a whale. Also, if you do want to run a pool, please be aware, there’s quite a lot to learn!

I’m willing to take time to learn what it takes. It’s only the beginning isn’t it?
And I have been watching crypto space since 2011. I have some background already, although not in Haskell.
I appreciate your warning. it reminds me of the one I give to people wanting to learn emacs. :o)

So I understand that the advantage of running a pool is that you can host other peoples stakes and therefore set the rule for sharing the reward. OK.
Your reply refreshed my mind.

Thank you

1 Like

yes! it is only the beginning. go for it dude, learn what it takes, don’t be swayed by off-putting nay-sayers!

here’s a great place to start!

1 Like

My cardano-node test launch

The hard way

@misteraxyz I appreciate your encouragement, but you are pointing the hard way for me. I found your link earlier but I was looking for a more comprehensive way, one more suited for someone who does not like one finger clicking device and virtual box stuff, too much.

The following 2 links helped me quite a lot:

The easy way: a resume of my journey with no pointing device

Environment

A distant Virtual Private Server (VPS) with Debian 10 (buster)

Preparation (updating stuff)

sudo apt-get update -y
sudo apt-get -y install build-essential pkg-config libffi-dev libgmp-dev libssl-dev libtinfo-dev libsystemd-dev zlib1g-dev make g++ tmux git jq wget libncursesw5 -y

Install Haskell stuff

Cabal