Greetings from a belgian fintech software developer

Hi All,

I’m a software developer from Belgium with a big interest in functional programming. I am currently writing scala code on a fintech project, but am looking to significantly change my carreer.

Ever since I’ve been working, I’ve always thought differently. With this, I don’t mean better, I just mean that I often have ideas that oppose others in my teams. This could be used as a strength, but usually it creates social isolation as divergent thinkers tend to be ignored by way of majority voting, sometimes also called “the tyranny of the majority”.

Over the next year, I’ll be launching 2 projects:

• Daedalus Voyage (use of Daedalus is a coincidence, chosen to represent the flight to freedom)
  • Divergent University

Daedalus Voyage will do research in cognitive psychology and flow science. We’ll provide coaching and guidance in this area and use this research to provide liquid, adaptable, self-evolving organisations. We oppose the language (not all content) of the flat hierarchy movement, although we’ll have a lot in common as we’ll share an origin in cybernetics, but also take advantage of game and systems theory.

To facilitate this, eventually, we’ll create a blockchain-enabled OS for these organisations. We see projects like AragonOS having a lot of potential, but ignoring, to some extent, our very human nature. We believe that we should not reduce all decisions to mathematical voting mechanisms, but rather use the technology to facilitate our findings in cognitive science should dictate the mechanisms and blockchain protect transparancy.