Hotel California Stake Pool Intro (Ticker: CALI)

Hotel California Stake Pool

Hello, my name is Hayden and I am the original founder of the Hotel California Stake Pool (Ticker: CALI).

Background

I am a software engineer by trade and have over 14 years working in the IT consulting world, working on everything from enterprise software deployments, full stack development, data migrations and data management and the list goes on.

I have also had a lot of experience deploying and managing hosted cloud solutions using the large providers (Amazon (AWS), Microsoft (Azure), Google (Google Cloud).

This puts me in a very suitable position to run a high performing, reliable and secure stake pool.

Cardano

My first ADA purchase was in December 2017 and I have been slowly accumulating ever since (I have never sold any). From this time I have been following the project closely (mostly quietly via r\cardano Reddit) through the highs (and a few lows) and I am in it from the long haul because I believe in what they are trying to achieve and can see the potential.

I did consider running a stake pool in the Incentivised Test-net (ITN) and even got one up and running for the experience, however, I chose not to pursue this (and save some of my sanity and spare time). This was largely due to the major difference in technology between the ITN (written in Rust) and the final Main-net (written in Haskell).

Location and Stake Pool Name

I am actually based in Australia even though I have chosen Hotel California as the stake pool name. I did have a list of potential stake pool names but landed on Hotel California as the song happened to play on Spotify as I was setting up the pool and thought it would be a great name for a stake pool (you should have another listen to the song and see if you agree!)