SPOs, Do not repeat my mistakes, Keep your Core Node Safe

Dear Awesome Cardano Staking Pool Operators,

My name is Jun, I am a Korean pool operator of HAPPY.

The reason I am posting this to here is to share my mistakes and prevent similar incident happening to you guys.

Just consider that I am just a graduate student in Korea, not a security expert, and I think most of you are not expert neither.

I made a huge mistake, and make a security breach to my Core node.

First, Let me share my security settings.

1. My SSH config: Password disabled, only accessible with my private ssh key.

2. My Port setting: Originally Open to 2222(ssh port), 3001(Core node), 3002~3005 (my ITN node)

3. My private key setting: Originally stored in cold usb storage as a zipped format with password (using zip -er)

4. My Core and Relay Setup: Core is in my home, bare metal, 5 Relays are in AWS with protected by each ssh keys and UFW.

I think the above settings were okay, but I made mistake from here.

I personally experimenting the docker, to dockerize my node for easy diploy and setup.

During the experimentation, I opened port 2375. and link that to my docker socket. (MISTAKE)

The docker user group have sudo previllege.

As I didn’t imagine I can be hacked with docker (I am just learning docker) I just liked docker socket to external port and opened it, So I can access my docker engine from outside easily.

I know this is very stupid mistake now, But I didn’t even imagine about this possiblility. (Yes you can blame me).

Yesterday, My pool pledge is suddenly drop to 740k, the original amount I set before I add my ITN rewards.

I thought that might be caused by a very long lived tx, because I usually set TTL to 10000.

So I uploaded my cold key without doubt. and unlock the zipfile (SECOND MISTAKE, never upload key file to machine when your pool is changed not by youself.)

And I increased pledge my 1M again.