Total beginner guide 101

Hey there guys!

I am on my final year of architecture school, but don’t see myself in the future working as an architect.
I am really interested in switching my career to blockchain developer. This year got pretty much addicted to everything crypto related and have so much ideas I want to develop.
But the problem is next: I don’t know anything about programming and computer science.
Only thing I know is that I would like to build one day dApps and smart contracts on Cardano blockchain, because I find it more superior than anything else on the market.

That being said, I built myself a roadmap for learning. I would appreciate if you would help me with your recommendations and advice for each step of the road.
I plan to learn as followed:

1. Computer Science, Mathematics etc. theory needed for programming and blockchain development (What books/courses would you recommend me? What should I focus on and what is not that important? etc.)

2. Blockchain theory and technology (I think I found a lot of quality material already)

3. Programming (Should I just start learning Haskell as my first language? What languages should I learn along Haskell? etc.)

1 Like

Hey,

regarding 1) Emurgo offers some blockchain development courses.

regarding 3) I suggest learning a basic language such as Java or C++.

All best,
julien

Thank you Julien!

So you suggest first C++, after that Haskell and then Plutus? Or can I just start learning Plutus after I get good at C++?

What about the theory of programming before learning C++? I know I should understand very well algorithms and data structures. Do you maybe got any books/courses to recommend in regards to those 2?

If you get to haskell this is the best tutorial I found: