Plutus Development - Q&A

Hello everyone.

I am a mobile developer and I am very interested in Cardano, so I am now learning how to develop smart contracts in Plutus. I am currently enrolled in the udemy course but the Q&A section there doesn’t seem active, so I am hoping we can have a more active discussion here.

2 Likes

I will start with my own question:

I am having issues using the Ada datatype. Here is a very basic example that doesn’t work. I noticed that it works fine if I replace the Ada with Value as the parameter for the lock method. Not sure what is happening here.

{-# LANGUAGE DataKinds           #-}
{-# LANGUAGE RecordWildCards     #-}
{-# LANGUAGE TemplateHaskell     #-}
{-# LANGUAGE DeriveGeneric       #-}
{-# LANGUAGE ScopedTypeVariables #-}
{-# LANGUAGE OverloadedStrings   #-}
{-# OPTIONS_GHC -O0 #-}
module Tutorial.ValidatorScripts where

import qualified Language.PlutusTx            as PlutusTx
import qualified Ledger.Interval              as Interval
import           Ledger.Slot                  (SlotRange)
import qualified Ledger.Slot                  as Slot
import qualified Language.PlutusTx.Prelude    as P
import           Ledger                     as L
import qualified Ledger.Ada.TH                as Ada
import           Ledger.Ada                   (Ada)
import           Ledger.Validation           as V
import           Playground.Contract
import           Wallet                       as W

data TxText  = TxText (P.SizedByteString 32)
PlutusTx.makeLift ''TxText

payload :: TxText -> DataScript 
payload text = DataScript $ L.lifted text

validator :: ValidatorScript 
validator = ValidatorScript $$(L.compileScript [||
        \(ds :: ()) (rs :: ()) (_ :: PendingTx) -> ()
    ||])

address :: Address
address =   L.scriptAddress validator

lock :: MonadWallet m => Ada -> m ()
lock value = do 
    _ <- if value <= 0
    then throwOtherError "Must contribute a positive value" 
    else pure ()

let ds = payload $ TxText "Test"