Poor documentation deterred developers

I’m a Cardano developer for 2 years. There’s little progress in documentation in this period.

For stake pool / cardano-node, the documentation from Cardano Developer Portal is really out of date. The video is 2 years ago and lots of stuff is incorrect and incoherent. Even no instructions for the hard fork.

For Native Script, the useful library cardano-serialization-lib to interact with dApps and light-weight wallet by @emurgo_io. The documentation was almost the same as a year ago. As a famous library from the official team, it’s not friendly for developers who want to step into Cardano.

For Plutus Script, has a horrible development experience. The documents are horrible with no clear instructions or up-to-date information. For the Plutus platform, Remix in Ethereum can easily code/test/deploy the contract to the testnet/mainnet, Plutus playground like a testing application in comparison.

I opened the issue to ask about the clear documentation but the response is the document is not the first priority now. This is not correct, the document affects whether developers will come in. The more developers in the environment, the more mature the system will be. Deciding to learn a new scope like blockchain is costly and risky for a developer, if the documentation is still like this, the developers will keep dropping and go to other chains that have better development experience.

As a full-time developer who all-in on Cardano, I believe in Cardano for the fundamental structure that is well-prepared and secured, but the system cannot sustain by only this. The amount of people is the key to the blockchain system.

5 Likes

Hi Eric
As a very first feedback on your request: yes we are aware.

Especially in the SPO area, a comprehensive reorganization is currently underway. Historical instructions are to be retained, but each with clear date and version information.
And yes some recent parts are missing.