Privacy and pledge?

As a stake pool operator, I am somewhat concerned about declaring my pledge and also being a public figure. You are basically saying: “Hey, look at me, I have at least this much Ada in my wallet.”

I became more concerned about this in recent days because I applied for an additional VPS with this German provider recommended in one of these threads “netcup.de”. This provider demanded that I provide a copy of my passport and proof of home address with an electricity bill. I have refused and will not be using them.

How do other stake pool operators feel about this? Are you OK with giving your home address out to various businesses and also publicly declaring how much Ada you own?

2 Likes

This is par for the course. There’s several ways to get around those issues, tho. Many SPOs maintain privacy by only existing through a username, and logo or NFT profile picture.

The protocol does not force an SPO to be a “public figure”. The only information that can be traced back to your are the IPs of your relays, which are needed to register your pool on-chain. You can hide those too by using a VPN with port forwarding. This isolates everything both ways: the VPS does not know you are a SPO (because they only see encrypted communication with the VPN), while the Cardano network does not know there is a VPS behind the VPN (it could as well be your home server in the basement).

1 Like

@PhirePhlame @orpheus-ant
So I should just try to hide what I am doing after handing over my personal details. It just seems strange to me.

Why is the world generally accepting of this tracking and intrusive monitoring? Why does a VPS provider need to have a copy of my passport and know my home address.

The more I see of this sort of overreach, the more I think that the general public will be accepting of a CBDC.

It’s always trade-offs.

Bikes don’t have to be registered, cars have to be, because you can do lots of harm with them, although most don’t do it regularly.