Affordable housing in Africa - seeking collaborators

There is a backlog of 65 million houses in Africa - requiring an estimated $10 trillion of investment capital. I am seeking collaborators to liberate this capital.

During 2019/2020 we successfully proved the concept of enabling micro property development, providing returns for investors, creating wealth for financially-excluded urban land owners and significantly improving living conditions.

The challenge is to establish how Cardano could begin to meet this massive humanitarian and environmental need (and demand), because housing in Africa is not attractive to traditional capital markets. I am new to the Cardano ecosystem, very excited by the shared mission and seeking to connect with anyone interested in collaborating on creating a solution to this challenge.

16 Likes

This sounds like a really interesting idea and i will follow that thread closely.

4 Likes

Thanks.

It is a fascinating topic - and I am hoping - a perfect fit for Cardano.

3 Likes

How were you able to prove the concept in 2019/2020?

We built 32 rental units utilising traditional building methodologies. We proved the market demand from land owners and tenants and proved the financial model. The objective now is:

1. To open up this market for the 60% of property owners who do not have title and therefore no access to financial services. 2. To build utilising Modern Methods of Construction to ensure that by solving one problem we do not create a new environmental one.
  2. To find alternative sources and methods of funding.
  3. To create a rewards ecosystem, particularly for the tenants so that good payment behaviour is rewarded and to develop a way to enable them to get onto the wealth creation ladder.

1 and 2 are done by new and circular building technologies. 3 and 4 are why I am on this forum - seeking the knowledge and skills to work out to integrate the real and virtual worlds to achieve these objectives.

Ambitious - but achievable!