Blocsec.io - A project dedicated to smart contract security

Hello all. Over the last few days, I have been browsing the forums, getting familiar with the community, and looking for a way to contribute. I am particularly interested in security, as I am a security engineer by day, and thus I have decided to pursue a security-oriented project, and am looking to get feedback regarding my initial idea.

The (Potential) Problem:

Over the last few years, we have seen a drastic increase in smart contract hacks, resulting in serious financial theft. Cardano smart contracts do address this concern as much as possible. When using a functional language such as Haskell, the attack surface area drastically reduces from what we see in the current ecosystem. It gets say ~90 percent of the way there.

However, code is only as secure as the humans who write it, and with a brand new ecosystem and not a ton of “predefined” best practices, there is room for error, especially as we head into a public release which many developers are eagerly awaiting.

Project Goal:

The goal of the project is to get a kickstart on smart contract security for developers who plan to use Cardano. Initially, I’d like to create some tooling similar to what exists for other smart contracts already. . Should that go well, there are endless possibilities on how else to educate incoming developers such as YouTube videos, CTF style hacking challenges, auditing, or publishing best practices, news, and top vulnerabilities. The 10-year goal would be to be the Portswigger of this domain.

What I am looking for:

• I am still very new to this community, so first I want to ask if this is something that is needed? I have asked around and reviewed the resources which are available to me, but I have yet to get a true answer. Before I dive into a project (that I admittedly know very little about going into it), I want to make certain that it is not a waste of time, or if there is something I have seriously overlooked.