Haskell - Best book, course or tutorial recommendation please

Never done Haskell but know many popular languages.

Thanks guys!

2 Likes

I started learning Haskell with wikibook.

3 Likes

http://learnyouahaskell.com/

Best Haskell book known to man. Also available online for free

6 Likes

http://haskellbook.com/ - by far the best, IMHO, worth every penny.

2 Likes

I concur, I originally tried to get into learn you a haskell a couple years back but past the fun drawings it left a lot to be wanted for solid explanations. The Haskell Book which Martin linked costs a bit, but it’s really worth it.

1 Like

Just bought that one (i.e. haskellbook.com) tonight based on the advice here. Very good so far.

Haskell Programming from First Principles

Hands down the best

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25587599-haskell-programming-from-first-principles

1 Like

Has anyone tried all three books and has an opinion about the differences btw them?

Learnyouahaskell seems intuitive, but I read the reviews that it isn’t in-depth enough.

Haskellbook looks like comprehensive but I am not sure I can follow the authors who might use Haskell specific concepts early on.

Haskell from the first principles looks thorough but again the reviews say the chapters leave out a lot of depth till later… in some form of a cliff hanger.

Also what operating system would you recommend for Haskell programming?

I want to be able to install and start working on exercises without spending too much on configuring my IDE.

Finally, where can I find projects where I can contribute as a junior Haskell developer?

1 Like

IMO:

1. If you a Masochist, use Linux,
  2. if you an extreme Masochist, use Windows,
  3. if you just want a hassle-free env use macOS.
    with Visual Studio Code with Haskell Syntax Highlighting, hoogle-vscode
    , Haskero extension (Max 3 mins install setup)