Hello from Path to Plutus!

Hi guys!

Hope you’re all doing well!

My name is Vincent Almeida and I can’t believe that I’m only signing up to the Cardano forum now given that I’ve been a huge follower of the Cardano project since around September / October 2017. Since then, I have become incredibly passionate about the project and the impact it will have. Not only have I become passionate about the project, the project has made me passionate about functional programming. Currently I am a software engineer by day and aspiring blockchain engineer by night living and breathing all things blockchain.

Although I have learnt, and am still learning, about the intricacies of Ethereum dapp development from smart contract to web app, I have been waiting, until recently, for the opportunity to learn about dapp development on Cardano. However, I found it difficult to know how to bridge the gap between my existing development knowledge and Plutus with the gap being Haskell. I kept asking myself what path I need to take to learn Plutus and it obviously involved learning Haskell. Learning a new language has its own challenges and that’s when you know what to learn. Therefore, I thought why not share my learnings and help other people on their Path to Plutus, on their path to becoming a decentralised application engineers by first learning Haskell. This is the very reason I set up the Path to Plutus YouTube channel and have started teaching Haskell as per this YouTube series: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLdkMrReSmt7lpGSgor6j6yNkmDeXUf_0t