Is there a cost to changing delegation?

I’m a newbie and as I first connected to daedalus i just put my ada in the top-performing staking pool. I see lots of reasons now to support smaller pools. Is there a cost in reward to change delegation?

Nope, no cost. You pay a transaction fee when changing, but thats typically only around 0.17ADA. Should be clearly visible from daedalus before submitting.

4 Likes

No cost, the 2 ADA deposit is taken only for the first delegation.
If you are looking into small pools with a mission, I operate one. Ask if interested.
Happy staking!

@Gaaike yes, there is a cost in reward. Lets say you delegate to a pool with 34m - that pool would mint 34 blocks / epoch. For each block the pool receives a total of 1k reward. The pool would therefore get 34k of rewards. First, the operator cost is deducted (i.e. 340 ADA) second the pool margin is deducted - lets assume that is 0%.

340 / 34k => 0,01

With such a pool, there would be 1% of rewards that cannot be distributed proportionally.

Now, you delegate to a small pool with 500k. That pool will make a block every other epoch. When it makes a block, it will also receive 1k of which 340 ADA are deducted. This is …

340 / 1k => 0,34

Now, instead of 1% there are 34% of the rewards that cannot be distributed to the delegators.

The larger the pool, the smaller that slice of pizza that gets deducted before proportional distribution.

1 Like

The OP asked about the cost to change delegation, not about the costs of the pool.
To change delegation the only cost is the TX fee of about 0.17ADA.

Also your calculations are misleading and not correct (in your example a big pool yield is 7.3% which is not possible), IMHO. It looks like a big pool gives 34 times the rewards of a small one, which is not true.

A big pool yield is 5-5.5% APY. A small pool with less than 1.2M is about 4-4.5%. There is a difference, but is not as big as you imply.

He asked: “Is there a cost in reward to change delegation?”