nami wallet collateral disappear

hello, I have a problem with my nami wallet, the collateral is always disappear, I have been using the nami wallet for 3 months and have filled 25 for the collateral.

Please help me

1 Like

I also often encounter this problem, I hope someone in the community can answer

First: Collateral does not disappear from your wallet. It is just moved to another unspent transaction output (UTxO). It is still in your wallet and this movement “just” costs a little transaction fee.

Then: If you use a Nami wallet with multiple computers (or with other wallet apps), they don’t know about the other instance having reserved this UTxO as collateral. So, they will spent it in normal transactions.

This goes as far as two Nami instances both “stealing” each others reserved collateral UTxO, while setting their own collateral.

What kind of works: Set the collateral with just one instance of Nami and then use it with one or several instances of ccvault, where in ccvault you also activate collateral in the settings. ccvault (in contrast to Nami) first looks if it finds an appropriate UTxO and will find the one set by Nami and protect it and not use it in transactions.

2 Likes

Or with pictures: This is a typical collateral setting transaction (initiated by Nami, but viewed in ccvault, because Nami hides all the details from you):

It is an internal transfer, just costing the transaction fee. 5 ADA are set aside as collateral in the first transaction output on the right.
(It also separates one UTxO carrying all the tokens with just the minimal ADA needeed to be with them and one UTxO with only ADA. This is a good thing, because it saves some transaction fees if I only want to send out ADA.)

I can now activate “Collateral” also in ccvault and it will automatically find (and not use in normal transactions) exactly this output: