Recommendations on lower costs for running a server on the cloud

Hi all. I am new here and this is my first post. While browsing around the forums to see what’s required for running a stake pool, I come across many topics about paying $40+ per server on Digital Ocean as one of the “cheaper” options so I decided to show a cheaper alternative.

First of all, I am an infrastructure engineer, leading an IT team and maintaining 100+ servers, both physical and on AWS. It’s my recent adventure in architecting our company’s AWS account that allowed me to become cost-aware in running servers which I wanted to share with you.

So, back to the topic. $40+ per server on Digital Ocean is for (4 core, 8GB RAM) which is above recommended specs, is too much. On AWS, a T3.large instance will cost you around $68/month. However, buy “Reserved Instances” and you can lower this cost from $68 to around $25 for on a 3-year term.

I think a 3-year term is realistic to invest in considering the time it will take to get delegators to your pool which seems to be a catch22 problem. No delegators = no minted block. No minted blocks = no delegators.

I have the technical background, enthusiasm and the will to contribute to a project like Cardano which is how I ended up here but just a day of research shows that the biggest hurdle for me would be marketing since it means I need to remove my tin foil hat. Let’s see where my research takes me.

Anyway, I thought some might find this useful. Good luck.

4 Likes

Hello,

Check this topic

Cheers,

I agree. Many things are a factor to consider. From familiarity to feature balance, cost/reliability. I just wanted to point this out to those who are paying considerably higher prices for their servers another way to make it cheaper.

Anyone looking at the AWS “bottom line” should consider how the EC2 T instances are different from other cloud virtual machines. They’re not resident & running all the time (the T indicates that the CPU is “burstable”):