Current Operators....Actual Cost to Operate vs Actual Returns thoughts?

I posed this question over on CardanoStaking at Reddit today in a little less detail.

I have 50k ADA to use to create a staking pool. I am looking for insight into exactly how much I could earn operating my own pool vs just delegating my ADA.

I am a smart contract/block chain developer that has been programming dapps and blockchain code since the days before Cardano. I am not concerned about the cost I will incur learning to set up the pool or equipment.

I am going to assume that it will cost anywhere from $150-200USD per month to operate.

In terms of rewards. Is the stake pool operator awarded any more than the 4 to 5% return that anyone else in the pool is receiving? Do you recover the operating costs by setting a specific amount when setting up the pool to be awarded to the pool operator before reward distribution?

Basically for those of you out there currently operating a successful pool, how much (percentage is fine) do you actually make on your delegated ADA or from your pool monthly/annually?

I understand the reason to make a pool is to help solidify and strengthen the health of the Cardano network and the future of the Cardano project. I get that and this is why I have supported Cardano and bought in almost from day 1. But, I want to be realistic in terms of wether or not creating a staking pool would be cost effective vs directing my efforts to support Cardano in a different direction.

Thanks everybody!

4 Likes

I will use SPAAS as an example, we have 0% Margin with 1.0M â‚ł Pledge. The Pledge is not provided by SPAAS, but by a separate Owner as we are a Service. Our Infrastructure is run on Google Cloud, which is an Enterprise Cloud.