Why Haskell?

I work in the IT/Internet industry and thought it would be a nice geek project to setup a Cardano node and self stake my coins. But I see the Cardano-node software requires Haskell and Cabal.
For over 20 years I have worked as a Linux Systems Admin and never needed to use this before, which likely explains why its not even included in my favorite distro.
Cardano wants to be a major player and talks the game so why oh why not using something which is widely supported and native to Linux like C/C++, Perl* or Python?
*Not recommending Perl but just using it as an example.

Haskell is not as obscure as you make it sound. It is by far the most successful of the purely functional programming languages and you can hardly get a computer science degree without having at least heart about it.

It is included in every major Linux distribution: Debian and its derivatives, namely Ubuntu, Fedora, Arch, … If your distro does not contain it, your distro is probably more obscure than Haskell itself.

You do not need to write Haskell code yourself to setup and run a node, just be able to install it, which should really be possible for an experienced administrator.

Of course, a good programmer can shoot herself in the foot in every language, even Haskell. Maybe, you could also get comparable safety in a more wide-spread language by careful code audits and lots of unit tests. Maybe, there would even be more people that could do independent audits than people who can audit Haskell code.

But a purely functional language is, nevertheless a valid choice for a project that values formal verification like Cardano does. It gives you a lot of guarantees regarding program correctness by design.