Why I am Exiting the Single-Owner-Single-Pool Advocacy

On February 4, 2020, I initially mentioned the unhealthiness of pool farms in Cardano’s decentralization infrastructure. Back then, it was not mainnet. Instead, it was the ITN (Incentivize Testnet). Since then, I have been a strong advocate for the single-owner single pool approach to Cardano decentralization. I significantly contributed to the vision of the CSPA (Carando Single Pool Alliance). I wrote several articles against pool farms and in favor of single-owner-single-pool. Despite my strong advocacy, I have changed my mind, and I am no longer promoting the single-owner-single-pool as the sole entity for Cardano’s decentralization infrastructure. So, what changed? Why am I flip-flopping or backsliding? Why am I willing to be labeled a hypocrite? A lot has changed after my recent research and observation of the evolving stake pool ecosystem. This article attempts to explain my candid and painful exit from the single-owner-single-pool concept that I have stanchly advocated till about a week ago.
After recently researching and observing the current Cardano stake pool landscape, I arrived at four major indisputable conclusions.

1. While Ourouborus parameters (D, K, A0, etc.) can impede their formation, those perimeters cannot prevent pool farms from participating in Cardano’s decentralization infrastructure. Nor can it be implemented by algorithmic protocols in Ouroboros.

2. Neither IOG nor the Cardano Foundation can legislate a single individual or entity from owning more than one stake pool. It centralizes authority and defeats decentralized governance.

3. Human ingenuity to game the system for profit is smarter. If a single owner wants to create and own several stake pools, there are exponentially many ways to accomplish his/her goals.

4. IOG is fundamentally advocating that stake pools operate as a for-profit business. As a for-profit business, the primary goal is to maximize business profit.