Contabo as Cloud provider & minimum utilization RAM for 1.29v

Hi all,

this is Marc from Barcelona and I am currently setting up my first Cardano Stake pool with some colleagues! [LYNX]
One of my big concerns is: which Cloud Provider pick and why?
I’ve been working for several years with Azure and I love it, but I have the feeling that for those Relay & Producer nodes is too much, so this is why I was looking for a more simple VPS provider, like Contabo or Digital Ocean.
Why Contabo has these lower prices comparing with other companies? Maybe @Alexd1985 can give me a bit of good advice on that? I saw you promote them but I wanted to be sure that the performance is expected! :smile:
Reduce initial costs is one of my hot topics because to be honest, I do not expect to mine any block at all in the first months so…

Also, another concern I need to clarify is: how much RAM is nowadays is recommended? I saw some last posts saying that 8GB is not enough… should I move directly to a 16gb nodes with this new 1.29 version?
I don’t want to start everything and change the properties in a few days due to lack of memory…

Thanks for the support and have a great day all!

Marc VF

1 Like

Why Contabo has these lower prices comparing with other companies?** Maybe @Alexd1985 can give me a bit of good advice on that? I saw you promote them but I wanted to be sure that the performance is expected! :smile:

so, I am not promoting, I just provide an alternative to cheap VPS solutions; when I started last year I didn’t wanted to spend hundreds of $ for servers (I knew it I will not produce blocks)… for almost 7 months I never had issues with them, the servers are running smoothly and they have 3 DATA CENTERS around the world… I still have a server running on Contabo with 32G RAM which is costly me 17$…