Daedalus Security

Dear Daedalus Dev,

I am respectfully requesting that Daedalus at least be password protected. One step further would be to add 2FA and another step further world be to enable wallet encryption (like CloakCoin).

I’m no expert in the Daedalus wallet but doesn’t setting a password for withdrawing already give you some sort of protection? Sure it might not be enough but it still guarantees from someone not withdrawing your coins… Either ways, Daedalus is still in early stage. There are many plans ahead, just be patient :slight_smile: Worst case scenario is to just add a password for withdrawal that way no one can remove the coins from your wallet besides yourself or those that have access to your password.

GL!

I’m still waiting for the paper wallet option from the Daedalus wallet team. However, would you happen to know where I could find the file on my PC that holds the private key to the Daedalus wallet? I’m thinking that if I can cut and paste it into a brand new USB drive & hold it in ‘cold storage’ off-line, then the bad guys won’t have access to it until I’m forced to use it do a ADA transaction. Or is this line of thinking totally off-base?

There prob is a file but I’m unaware of it… Will most likely be in the folder that you installed the wallet though. You could always delete your wallet and restore it once you want to use your ADAs or w/e… Make sure to know and have your 12 word phrase in case you decide to restore the wallet… Also it will most likely take a while to restore.

Thx, Wobster.

You bet! Hope I helped in any way! :wink:

I know little, technically speaking, about crypto wallets, where Daedalus stands compared to others, etc. But from my naive perspective, the addition of 2FA would be a welcomed step, and make me feel more comfortable. And I do think feeling comfortable is an important component when it comes to storing money, especially money in bulk.