Daedalus wallet on Windows 10 vs Windows 7 Pro

Greeting community.

I apologize if this a duplicate topic.
I am currently running a Windows 7 Pro 64-bit on a 5 year old laptop (DELL Precision M6600) and was wondering if I should invest in newer, more secure laptop running Windows 10 and newer hardware to install “The one and only! Daedalus wallet”.
I would like to contribute to the staking process.

Thank you.

If Daedalus is running ok on your Windows 7 laptop I don’t see any reason that it wouldn’t be secure enough. You might consider investing in a good antivirus software and upgrading your firewall, use script blockers on the web browser and just practice safe browsing. I am not a professional in this area though, so do some more research.

1 Like

Any recommendation on “good” antivirus and firewall (hardware?)

Looks like security updates continue with 7 till 2020 but I still think an updated windows 10 system would be better.

1 Like

my2Ada

Consider encrypting your wallet with, for example, VeraCrypt .

I would not buy a new laptop unless the one you have is not completing your work.
Once Daedalus is officially available on Linux then you could get a low-cost Linux system, $35.00, and have that be your dedicated Cardano wallet.

Cheers,
Jonathan

1 Like

I wasn’t previously aware of VeraCrypt, it looks great! How would you use it in this situation, given the involvement of %APPDATA%? Encrypt the system partition? I’ve only glanced at the docs so far but I’d be worried about possible complications.

1 Like

Encrypt only your “wallet” folder located in:

C:\Users\"username"\AppData\Roaming\Daedalus

That “wallet” folder is your specific wallet, everything else runs the app.

Cheers,
Jonathan

PS
Before you encrypt that folder you should experiment, make a folder on your desktop and encrypt it, find out how the application works first.

3 Likes