Game Theory - non zero sum outcomes

Hello there,

I am a philosophy graduate and a participant in a Catayst fund project trying to get to grips with game theory at a meta-philosophical level (not a mathematician).

For all a while now I have been browsing through the white papers over at Research papers - IOHK Research and I found a lot of papers that deal with functional, complete systems that typically have a Nash Equilibrium solution that is zero-sum (unambiguous).

This is important work in building the theoretical basis for Cardano’s blockchain roadmap. But I have found no accommodation of cases where parties have the option of mixed strategies (the example in Game Theory of “The Battle of the Sexes”) with no zero sum - which results in ambiguity (more than one favorable outcome).

This subject interests me in the context of what the Philosopher Ken Binmore calls “Decision making in large worlds” - in particular, whether the solution he proposed in “Rational Decisions” (2009) of “Muddled Equilibra” ) could be accommodated within a functional system.

3 Likes

Fascinating topic thanks for bringing it up! I will look over the links you provided.

2 Likes

Hi Stephen,

Very interesting idea. May I ask if you have any specific aspect of Cardano in mind that you think could be modelled by such a non-zero-sum game with possible muddled equilibria?

1 Like

Hi Christino,

My intuitive idea is that muddled equilibria could apply to governance issues that involve non zero sum outcomes. In cases where choices (symmetric) are known but a resolution has been left unsettled between the parties (the players). In short : areas of ambiguity, uncertainty and incompleteness.

In such a situation there will be Nash Equilibra (where the players may assume the game is zero sum - either/or) and there will be “Muddled Equilibra” (where the players may decide according to a range of probabilities).