Haskell, TPS and performance

I am not a Haskell programmer but the concern is if the language really performs. So, besides the language performance, what is the current TPS provided by the network ?

What kind of Dapp will you be looking to deploy?

1 Like

I’ve never heard that performance is a big issue with Haskell, but I’m not a Haskell dev yet. A quick search suggests that it depends on how you code:

1 Like

Here is a good article on Cardano TPS:

https://www.cryptorecorder.com/2019/01/17/cardano-ada-ouroboros-hydra-and-cardano-scalability-to-visa-level-tps/?amp

2 Likes

thank you. My concern is… at this stage I was expecting Cardano team really publish real reports based in the network tests done so far… it is easy to estimate 5k TPS in a page but I would like to understand if all my investment is going to a real thing and not an unrealistic academic theory.

1 Like

It’s going into academic theory then the real thing in that order. :grinning:

3 Likes

so do I but the github activity seems to be very low regarding the protocol. At this stage we should know some benchmark.

Not sure which repo you are following, please check this site for an overview of updates across repos.

2 Likes

Truth is, nobody should rely primarily on the projects to measure performance. Are there any resources or references with respect to chain performance? It would be nice, but likely it is limited at this point.

From a systems engineering point of view, you need to develop models that are sufficiently detailed to simulate. For systems like this at scale, simulation is the only option besides evaluating the system in operation at full scale. You can get results from test systems/network, but there too you need good models to project from the test configurations to scale.

On thing we know is that Bitcoin does not scale and no one has proposed anything in that space to fix that. How can any global system be useful at 6-7 TPS?