Introducing Sebastien Guillemot - Cardano Community Member

Seb has been a valued Cardano community member for quite some time now, he is best known for his English and Japanese video reviews of the Cardano roadmap and weekly technical reports. We caught up with him to find out more about his interest in the project.

You make Youtube videos explaining the Cardano roadmap updates and IOHK weekly technical reports. Can you tell us what made you interested in producing these videos? How did you also learn Japanese?

This dates back to my college years. My dad is a software engineer, so he taught me computer science when I was a kid. By the time I got into college, I already knew a lot of what they taught in the computer science course materials at school, which meant I had a lot of spare time. I was interested in learning a new language, so I studied Japanese during my spare time.

When I learnt about Cardano, I saw a big gap for the Japanese communities in terms of content, so I started to translate those English pieces of content into Japanese.

Thereafter, I started to make videos about IOHK weekly technical reports and monthly Cardano roadmap updates. A lot of the content IOHK puts out is not easy to understand for many people and I thought I could provide some help in that sense, because of my background.

What made you become interested in Cardano?

As a computer science engineer, I’ve been interested in blockchain for a while, but never found a project that I wanted to be part of until I learnt about Cardano.

I studied both computer science and math at college. For me, what was interesting about Cardano was its unique approach to problem solving, namely its formal methods and peer to peer reviewed academic research.