Plutus Pioneer in the wild. Questions and observations

Hello, hello, hello
Is there anybody out there
Just reply if you read this …

I’ve been going thru the wonderful Plutus PIoneer videos on youtube. I’m a Haskell newbie and have questions. Some are fundamental Haskell but others are about the Plutus processing model and how to be more efficient self learner. I posted some to the YouTube video comment and posted (1) here about a week ago but have yet to get response to any. So feeling kind of lonely.

Perhaps this is the wrong place for the questions below. If so, can someone point to appropo resource?

Questions:

– Is there a way to interact with the simulated Cardano node via the command line? Is so where might one find resources.

– So far the client code ( offchain ) and script/validator code ( onchain ) are in the same file and logic are tightly coupled.

The Homework2 example:

mkValidator :: PubKeyHash → Slot → () → ScriptContext → Bool

hints at a separation of concerns, i.e. what the wallet needs to know ( it’s own key ) and what the script needs to know ( the vesting window, i.e. SlotRange ).

But even here the script is wallet/client aware. This seems to be different from ol’school client/server model – where server exposes APIs and client builds views/services leveraging those APIs. Is this a premature or wrong interpretation?

– How does one inspect all the functions ( APIs ) for a given data structure.

For example ScriptContext, ctx, there exists a helper" function/api:

scriptContextTxInfo ctx

that returns the TxInfo for the given context.

That’s sweet but for the curious how does one inspect the docs to find all the “helper” functions/api given a ScriptContext. Also are there any helper functions to construct a default/dummy ScriptContext?

Observations(s):