Rookie Coder - How Can I Participate?

As an outsider of the computer science field (I am in design& engineering) who is learning some JavaScript on the side, is there any scope to participate to the Cardano community?

Where would be best to direct my efforts so to learn and at the same time contribute to Cardano or any side projects related to it ?

I guess there is plenty of highly qualified already filling all the gaps but I told was worth a try to ask.

In the meantime I buy ADA and I am active on Twitter rising awareness on Cardano.

3 Likes

You’d be very welcome as a contributor to Cardano Wiki, it could be great if it had one or two more enthusiastic volunteers! And wiki markup is a lot easier to learn than any programming language! :grinning:

1 Like

I am a noob coder too if you’re into front end web dev then you have MERN http://mern.io/ to use (and other full stacks) which can be used to create a lot of cool stuff that we would call useful (price, epoch, news). Also, if you want to get into smart contract development, I have a video [VID]Explaining the Gaming smart contract in Plutus that explains the gaming contract (30min and I’m a noob too) so you might be able to imitate and improvise on one of those Plutus core contracts. That would be helpful to me and other noobs if you can learn how to fold a list and accumulate the boolean values to see if they are all true, that would be a lottery contract described here https://github.com/robkorn/plutus-experimental-smart-contracts/blob/master/Games/naiveLottery/naiveLottery.hs