Two servers needed now?

From what I understand, you now need at least two servers:

• block producing node
  • a relay node

Source : https://github.com/input-output-hk/cardano-tutorials/blob/master/node-setup/topology.md

Which means that the minimal hardware requirement has doubled ? Am I right ?

Yes, thank you for trying to help me …
I perfectly know how to build a single node …

But I think they do expect us to run at least two servers for security reasons:

I am wondering if it make sense for an individual to run a pool ? Isn’t Cardano stacking pool system aimed at average server farms ?

1 Like

Your right, my apologies I should stay clear of subjects that I have no business being in :metal:

I’m no expert either, but you’ve been waiting a while so until one comes along, my opinion FWIW: you should be able to run two (maybe more) nodes on one machine, reqd specs might be higher but probably not doubled. (This is from general IT experience, not specific Cardano knowledge.)

Stricto sensu you can run a single node and connect it to others on the network. However, this has the disadvantage to publicize your server and the core node within it.

The proposed architecture is to run a core node that allows connections only to one or more relays nodes that you control. In such a setup, your core node will firewall everything except the relays connections. This hardens substantially your security and only relays could fall to DDoS attacks and penetration attacks.

Also, note that the core node would only carry “hot” secrets that can be revoked anytime through the use of “cold” keys. These cold keys should never be on a connected machine - ever.

1 Like

I got that already, the question would rather be, is that mandatory or strongly suggested if we want to get elected to produce any new block ? Didn’t find any info about that …

block election is irrelevant here, as it is based only on controlled stake and not your network specificity :slight_smile: