Using NFTs for professional certifications?

Hi,
I’m new to crypto development but am interested in investigating if the blockchain is a good way to solve the following problem.
Im a medical professional and have various certification from professional institutions that I constantly need to “prove” to employers to ensure I’m qualified. This usually involves scanning the paper qualification and getting a notary to witness the original and sign the copy. Obviously this is teadious and easily forged.
I was thinking that it may be possible to setup a system in which professional institutions mint NFTs to the blockchain and transfer to my wallet? I can then give an employer a link or QR code and they can verify my qualifications.
I’m sure a similar problem has been solved before. Can anyone point me in the right direction or have any comments on the feasibility of this?

Cheers

3 Likes

welcome to the forum @Drdavidbell :sunglasses: It will be simpler than you imagine because a system to provide this will soon be running as a sidechain of Cardano. Some pretty big projects, both crypto and conventional, are already queueing up and preparing to use this:

https://www.atalaprism.io

Like for the purpose you’ve imagined, it will allow users more control over how their ID credentials are presented, more or less according to this standard (this is a technical document but you can focus on this section Use Cases and Requirements:

Here is the description of a pretty big use case in active development:

Some conversation & developments about Atala have already been posted in this forum thread; the discussion of whether and when this platform will be “open source” will determine some of these use cases as well as the competition that might emerge:

If someone knows a blog or other resource where Atala developments can be followed directly then I hope they will post it here because I have also been looking for this myself.