What Should I learn First CLI or Plutus? Want to be a Cardano Dev

Hey Y’all! I’m a 38 yr old Chef from the US and a burgeoning programmer. I’ve been teaching myself Haskell basics to get ready to learn Plutus. However, when I went to try to learn how to mint NFTs the directions were in the Cardano Command Line Interface. The CLI seems to have its own syntax and doesn’t look like Plutus. I would love to know the difference between the two, and since I want to make NFTs with my son’s art, which should I learn first.

Cheers

You can create NFTs without learning Plutus. Unlike Ethereum tokens in Cardano are native, so you do not require a smart contract to mint them.
Yes, the cli is the main tool for that.

Having answered your question, I think it’s wonderful you have the desire to learn Cardano in order to delve into the world of NFTs. I certainly don’t want to discourage you, but it would be far easier for you to use one of the few NFT builders/makers (dApps) out there (Google Cardano NFT maker) to get started quickly, unless you have a very unique/specific plan on how to use them (store/view/sell/etc). We will soon see an explosion of NFT marketplaces in the Cardano blockchain, including the one Hoskis alluded to in a recent AMA.

I hope this helps.

Thanks for the tip! But can you explain to me what the CLI is? Or point me to some material that explains it compared to Plutus?

Thanks again

Of course. The CLI is the Command Line Interface. Is a way to interact with applications in a “low level” way: meaning no fancy GUI, but text based applications. Surely your OS comes with an application called Terminal that will allow you to run some low level operations. Most servers in the internet run “headless” so the only way to access the running process and applications is with the CLI. Try it in your machine, open a Terminal window and type ls or dir (if you are in a windows machine).