Why hide block producing nodes?

What is the security rationale to hide block producers behind relays as described here? I don’t see the benefit because both relay and block producer are running the same software, so if someone can take over a relay they could also take over the producer from there using the same exploit. What am I overlooking?

Hi @waldmops,

I hope this finds you well. I am not a security expert, but I interpret the relays as an extra safety net, a firewall of sorts. If I follow your reasoning correctly, you are questioning, why bother? I guess you could extend the same reasoning to any precaution/safety measure. If your block producer were open to the wider network, attackers wouldn’t have to go through your relays to wreck havoc, they could come straight in.

Further, I am not sure I can imagine what a configuration would look like without relays. What would your BP connect to instead?

Please don’t take my comments as something to go by, hopefully more people will see this topic and put in comments that may be more informative (and informed) than mine.

All the best,

A

Well, a block producer is a full node just like any other, so it would connect to a handful of peers.

Fair enough, but not necessarily peers controlled by you or that you can trust. How does that protect your node better than having relays?

that’s why your BP should stay connected only with you Relays. don’t run topology updater on BP, only your relays configured in topology.json…only traffic from your relay accepted , etc

The idea is that your BP node only talks to your relay nodes, so it’s not exposed to any other traffic, keeping it safe from DDOS and other attacks.
Your relays basically act as DMZ/proxy https://www.barracuda.com/glossary/dmz-network

2 Likes

How so? If my relays are under DDOS attack, the producer is cut off from the network as well. What are some of the “other attacks” that we should worry about?

Here is what I considered so far: