Anyone using Daedalus wallet on Ubuntu?

Hi,

Anyone using Daedalus wallet on Ubuntu. I am not a developer and have no knowledge of coding either. So, this question might sound stupid, but I tried installing linux version on ubuntu with no success. After searching here, I found that there might be no version available for ubuntu till date.

Just hoping if someone here installed it on ubuntu somehow? If not, which is the safest alternative wallet?

TIA

1 Like

You could use the Yoroi extension on Chrome, Brave or Firefox browsers.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply Rob.
My ADA is still on the exchange. Most of the videos and reddit posts are about transferring cardano from Daedalus to Yoroi. So, is it possible to transfer ADA from exchanges directly to Yoroi?

Thanks

I was able to download, install and run Daedalus on Ubuntu 18.04.
What exactly was the problem you ran into?
Shawn - Squid Pool

1 Like

Yes you can send to Yoroi wallet from Exchange directly.
And sure - there isnt a seperate wallet for Ubuntu, because Ubuntu is also a linux build. You would need to provide complete details about the same.
Note that Yoroi is a light wallet while Daedalus is a full node wallet (i.e. with Daedalus you run a complete blockchain node, which means you will sync the entire blockchain to your machine as well).

1 Like

I sometimes run Daedalus on Ubuntu. It works fine in every single version of Ubuntu. You might have to make the install install file executable before running it… I did.

chmod +x file

Good to know that you are able to run the wallet on Ubuntu. I am not able to execute the file. I tired different methods for about two days, but even via terminal it asks for permissions, if I right click and permit the file to execute, then also I am getting the same error.
I will send you the screenshots soon, I am on a different system right now.