Cardano ADA Token Supply

Hi guys. As a new entrant into the cryptocurrency market and a technical systems program manager by trade, it has been a relief to find a project like Cardano. You all are head and shoulders above 75% of the other projects currently in flight. I have a question regarding ADA token supply. What was behind the decision to create a max supply of 45B? Are you concerned that such a large supply will limit the upside value of the tokens in the long run? I’m planning to hold ADA for the long term, and although I believe in the project, I also want to see a return on my investment (like most holders, I assume). I welcome thoughts on this from the team or the community.

Some people seem to get hung up on it but it’s just a number.
A bitcoin is divisible to the eighth decimal. The smallest portion of bitcoin has its own name: satoshi, whereas 1 BTC = 10^8 satoshis = 100,000,000 satoshis.
I can’t see why having a max 45 billion supply will limit the upside value of ADA.
People can just afford to own more of them.
People in Asia and many other parts of the world are more familiar with using thousands of their local dollars to make purchases than westerners. The project had its ICO in Asia and was mainly bought into by the Japanese who as an example pay 100 yen for a coke

2 Likes

Total token supply matters. Of course you need to consider the price of each coin / market cap as well.

Total supply of BTC: 21,000,000
Total supply of ADA: 45,000,000,000

ADAs supply is 2,142x more than BTCs total supply. With the current price of 0.029423 USD it’s already equivalent to a BTC price of 2,142*0.029423 USD = 63.02 USD.

1 Like

My post pointing that out was censored on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/cardano/comments/7feupi/total_supply_in_relation_to_btc/

What a shit show!