Cardano-node socket

Hi,

Can someone please help, I’m a novice and this is driving me mad.

I connected to the haskell testnet and set up a relay node. When i create a wallet, i can’t see the transactions as it can’t find the socket.

i put in;

export CARDANO_NODE_SOCKET_PATH=~/Downloads/cardano-node/relay/db/socket

when i put in command for the wallet transactions, i receive;
cardano-cli: Network.Socket.connect: <socket: 11>: does not exist (Connection refused)

Can someone please help?

It seems you’re pointing to a folder instead of a file.

Create a dummy file and call it node.socket and point to that.

CARDANO_NODE_SOCKET_PATH="~/Downloads/cardano-node/relay/db/socket/node.socket"

3 Likes

it’s definitely not a folder

ls -a, is there.

I have a similar situation. :thinking: @Psychomb

This should point to the socket file you specified when running the node. I do not see anything particularly wrong there.

May be modify your /etc/environment file with the CARDANO_NODE_SOCKET_PATH and use the absolute path instead of the relative ~ ?

logout and login again.

1 Like

I have run into the same error, and i have redone everything from different guide, this time from docs.cardano.org but i ran into the verry same error. I have tryed to make the file node.socket manually and then to export but with no succes. What else i can try?

Can you show your cardano-run to verify?

i also tried to add the export command in .bashrc with no succes resolving that error, any other ideas?

Make sure that:

• socket path is set correctly (pointing to the socket file)
  • all parameters supplied to the node (for starting node) are correct. Check the paths & ports

A typo can be easily introduced and can be hard to spot.