Connection between cardano node and ledger specs

Hi there,

this might be obvious but since I’m not a real programmer I couldn’t find a satisfying answer on my own.
How are the github repos cardano ledger specs and cardano node connected? Does the node use code from the specs or is the sole purpose of the specs to verify the papers?
Take wallet.hs for example

Or rewards.hs

Is this code referenced in the node’s code? From my understanding the node kind of is the cardano protocol so it somehow needs to incorporate the functions from those files or are they implemented in a different way?
Could you for example point me to the point in the node’s code where the reward function is implemented?

Again, this question might not make much sense for a developer, but I hope you get what I’m asking.

cardano-node, cardano-wallet,cardano-db-sync , etc are user facing modules that do consume executable specs (from cardano-ledger-specs) as well as other libraries. Rewards function could be very vague depending on what you’re looking for - as it would be spread over multiple files and modules depending on what point of interval you’re trying to analyse

2 Likes

Thanks for the insight. Which of those repos or modules would be considered the ‘core protocol’ if that makes any sense?

Most of those functions are used only locally in the module despite the fact that they’re exposed (exported) to the public.

Daedalus’s cardano-wallet executable (as an example for ranking) is communicating /w cardano-node through socket by using node-to-client protocol implemented in ouroboros-network library (the library’s ouroboros-consensus-shelley module to be precise).

The core protocol, in the sense of ledger and consensus, based on the cardano-ledger-spec repo.

So, I am not sure what you’re interested in.

1 Like

Thanks _ilap, I’m not looking for anything specific. I’m just trying to get a high level understanding how these modules work together.