DAPP and smart contracts in Cardano

I’m a developer and I’m looking to create a social media platform on BlockChain. It will be a web and mobile app. I searched a lot about DAAP in Cardano but nothing found I want to know is Cardano support Dapp applications or not ? If yes is there any tutorials where I learn.

Hello and welcome @AxeemHaider,
As of today, Cardano does not yet support Dapps. Nevertheless, there are already opportunities to play around with devnets, playground, start learning and start building today. Do you already have a rough idea how your app will work? (what will run on-chain, what will run off-chain and how to connect everything together)

Are you already experienced in Solidity or do you plan to learn Plutus?

I believe a great entry point is https://developers.cardano.org/en/virtual-machines/iele/resources/support-and-help/

2 Likes

Hi @adatainment hope you are fine and doing great.

Yes, I have an idea how it will run on chain, it is basically a social media app you can say something like Twitter but not twitter. It is an open source non-profit project.

Yes I have experience in Solidity and Ethereum but after reading some article and learning about Cardano it seems it’s a next generation of blockchain I really like the PoS and how it reduce the bandwidth. I have also experience in building blockchain from scratch not like Cardano but the basic one which able to handle the transactions, p2p connection and sync chain etc.

What you suggest me which path I need to follow I don’t want to go with Ethereum.
I think there are two ways.
1 - Finding the blockchain which is already support functionalities which I needed
2 - Creating my own blockchain from existing popular blockchain templates like Graphene But it seems Graphene is no longer maintain Graphene GitHub but some popular blockchain steem and hive are based on Graphene. What you suggest is it ok to go with Graphene ?