ERC20 Converter and UNISWAP

What happens to DEX UNISWAP when ERC20 tokens migrate to cardano?

The code for Uniswap is still written in Solidity and will not run on Cardano (just yet). However, part of the Plutus Pioneer program there is a lecture that shows how to implement Uniswap functionality in Plutus.

I would also like to hear what more dev heads think about whether this issue will delay the practical arrival of Cardano DEX beyond the hoped-for end of Q3 2021. I can’t recall reading any Cardano DEX funding proposal or white paper mentioning this aspect of concurrency:

It was discussed here, but not with respect to any timeframe:

My impression so far (I’m not a Plutus developer) is that the assumption of Cardano DEX by the end of September, long expected to shortly follow the Alonzo release, is therefore overly optimistic, not taking the concurrency related dev issues into account: sounding more like we might not expect it until early 2022. Of course if this turns out to be pessimistic I will be thrilled to find out why. :innocent:

1 Like

Yes, this is a hard problem. Ultimately, every blockchain works sequentially in the same way that you can spent the same dollar bill only once and not multiple times concurrently. The question here is where and how does the sequencing happen.

With Plutus it is currently such that the client’s wallet picks the UTxO. It does this totally disconnected from any other client that might be interested in the same UTxO - for example one that holds the current state of the smart contract. You then have a classical race, the first one wins all others fail.