How Close is Side Chain Interoperability?

For the sake of discussion, say I’m an architect for an Ethereum based Token or Coin. I’m guessing this isn’t all done yet, but when it is, I could pretty easily use the same contracts already developed for Ethereum on the Cardano chains? That is, there is already a plan to have a way of adapting their contracts directly, is that correct?

What would my choices be in terms of operating on both systems at the same time? I could imagine planning a transition from one “main chain” to another, but it is reasonable to have both as long as both are live? If I understand, Cardano contracts could be based either on ADA, or any currency that can interoperate.

I’m guessing I’m not the only one still learning the important details and answering these questions will help everyone think about the issues. I wan’t to know what the capabilities are, currently and in the near term roadmap. I apologize in advance if there are really basic FAQ questions.

Interoperability will come after the Goguen phase (Goguen will come by Q3 - Q4/2019). My guess is about a year from now for interoperability.

Yes, very much so, that has been one of the main aims. I believe some standards such as ERC20 can be ported over directly.

Great question! I’d like to know that too. Until very recently I assumed it would be one system at a time, but not so sure now.

1 Like

I suspect that if you did both, it would be two different coins/tokens/contracts, but maybe there could be simple or in the contract conversions. Maybe even both ways.

Look at it this way
If you have a smartcontract on etherium blocckchain would be smarter to run it in IELE ( cardano ) it would be cheaper , secure and more efficient than running it on etherium blockchain

Why you would maintain both chains if cardano’s is more efficient ?
If you already have a smart contract on Ethereum I guess it’s a migration what you would need, in that case look at traxia!