Pool Server hardware

Hi guys,

My name is John, I am from Denmark and I am a software engineer and graduated last year, so still a noob :slight_smile:

I have 10k ADA and want to start my own pool. I know there is a lot of work in maintaining and operating the pool and I am not expecting a lot of return on my pool. and i it’s more about marketing and so on.
I am very excited about the Cardano project and want to be a part of it and help decentralize.

I am looking for a server to buy and have found and interesting computer for sale

(Low energy home server, perfect for backup or central file server, can also be used as normal. PC.)
Intel Pentium G2020 2,9Ghz CPU
8GB DDR3 ram (2x4GB)
Promise Fasttrack TX4650 hardware raid controller
256GB SSD
4 x 2TB WD Red NAS diske
Fractal Design Node 304 kabinet

Is this pc enough to start my first pool?

Thanks in advance

John

1 Like

Hi There!

Raspberry PI 4 (4 GB) is also meet the requirements to operate a pool. So yes, it is a good hardware to start with.

1 Like

Thanks a lot, thats a much cheaper solution to start off with​:grinning::grinning:

1 Like

also you can start with a cloud vps solution… :wink:

Thanks a lot, Alex😀

With the amount of ADA and knowledge I have, what would you recommend?

A raspberry pi or a cloud solution, economically?

In my understanding I would have to spend a couple of months before I have delegators and start earning on my pool. I also think that my amount is very small, but all I can afford right now.

U should compare the prices for both scenarios and see which is fine for you. Sometimes cloud services can be a good alternative.

2 Likes

Thanks Alex :slight_smile:

1 Like

So, I have ordered my Raspberry pi 4 8gb and with and ssd harddisk.
I just received the order today, but I am confused as I have read that there should be
2 servers running to operate a pool?

Is this necessary and can I start with 1 server for now while testing?

Thanks in advance