SPO - Using cardano-hw-cli with a AWS EC2 instance

Hello, first post here and really new to the stake pool process I followed along with some YT tutorials and read about airgapped in Coincashew’s tutorial, but I am new to all this so I’m not sure the best practices.

For background: I mainly work out of AWS. I reserved 3-year t2.medium (which seems I have to upgrade to t2.large soon). I have my producer node on a private subnet with the only SSH connection restricted to the bastion-host which SSH is restricted to my IP. In addition, I have a NAT gateway routed from the public subnet in the same VPC so that the producer can update and do internet-things. My Relays sit on public with SSH restricted to my IP and has opened ports for in/out 6000, 6001, 3001.

I am just started learning to create a stake pool and I am completely lost. I’m having issues with understanding how the cardano-hw-cli works or if it’ll even work on a EC2 instance (in a private subnet/VPC). I keep getting a failed to initialize libusb, and my research leads me to believe you can’t use a physical USB mounted to a EC2 instance.

It seems this would work on airgapped machine which I think refers to an physical on-prem server. I was worried about stability issues since my ISP is not reliable so an airgapped machine might not work in my case. Do most pools host their producer nodes on the cloud too (i.e., a lot of tutorials use digitalocean)? If so, is anyone able to use their hardware wallet?

I was wondering if anyone had experience with using a hardware wallet on their stake pool?

Thanks in advance!
David

I tested and it worked via cntools - import hw wallet… but it was on wm machine configured on a local pc…

Perhpas this option will help u

Cheers,

Yes, using a HW wallet for pledge and reward is documented quite well over here

2 Likes

Thanks for the input @Alexd1985,