Updating BLOCK-PRODUCING node without downtime

I’m setting up a stake pool and have questions below. Any help is appreciated:

1. Exactly how can I safely update the block-producing node, without taking it offline?

2. Exactly which keys should be on the “block producing node”, and which should be only on the “air-gapped machine” (with cold keys). Please be specific so I dont have the wrong keys on a machine connected to the Internet.

3. Exactly how can I move the keys to a completely different machine? (ie do I just copy them over and restart the block-producing node, or is there something else?)

Please give answers like I’m a complete newbie. I’m quite new to all this. Literally I need “cut and paste commands”. I barely know how to delete a file via command line in Ubuntu.

4 Likes

Hello Bob,

and welcome to our community forum! Let me help you with these questions

1. depends on what you are planning to update or upgrade, as well how big (in terms of stake and pledge) your pool is.

Small pool, when quick fix is needed:
if the downtime is needed to update a new version or updating certificates, then i would just restart the node as 1.19. starts rather quickly (~15 sec), so the chances to miss a block are rather slim.

The only thing you should do to avoid long startup is to shutdown the node gracefully:

• from LiveView / TUI ( Text-based User Interface) hitting the Q button and waiting till process exits
  • if you are running in SimpeView:

killall -SIGINT cardano-node

• if you are running using systemd

sudo service cardano-node restart

Extensive / time consuming repairs/downtime:

basically you boot up a copy of your BP node and do all the necessary upgrades, when it’s done, then point your relays to this server (by replacing the IP addresses in the topology file). That’ s it.