What are the typical rewards for minting a block?

I fully understand that this is complex but surely someone can give some ball park numbers on what they are getting per block. I have a degree in pure mathematics but I struggle to understand the ridiculously complex maths (or math if you are American) that people post to explain the rewards. Can anyone just post - yes I got X amount of ADA for the last block I minted - just for an example. Everything doesn’t have to be shrouded in mystery surely.

3 Likes

There is no mystery, it just seems that most explorers are not listing the rewards per block because that doesn’t seem to be a terribly useful metric.

In Epoch 225 it was about 1300 ADA, down from about 1850 in epoch 215. The number is getting smaller as more pools are joining the network.

1 Like

Great - thanks for this as this is useful to know. However I don’t understand why the number of pools should effect the value of a minted block. If the number minted is constant then I would have thought more pools would just mean that each pool has less chance of getting to mint a block.

You are right, that was a careless and wrong statement from my part. It is the amount of staked ada, not the number of pools that drives the reward per block. Maybe also other factors, I haven’t studied the mechanism in detail yet.

1 Like

The amount of rewards is only the sum of these 2 things:

1. All transaction fees: collated from the set of transactions included in a block that was minted.