How to Stake? Newbie here

Hi,

I’ve held some ADA for a number of years via Daedalus and was wanting to get involved in staking.

Can anyone point me to a guide or give me the correct steps to follow. Has to be idiot proof as I’ve literally no idea what I’m doing!

Thanks in advance

Hi,

Did you run your Daedalus application already? The delegation right now is very primitive.

Short:

• The network will take 2 ADA as a deposit just one time and return once your delegation stopps.
  • You have to pay transaction fees every time you choose a new pool
  • Contact the stake pool operator for a better feedback and to make them happy or just stay pseudonymous

In Daedalus you will find a new tab: the ‘delegation center’. From here on you will see many stake pools like mine AHOLY.
The pools which have a stake bigger than 1 million produce ~1 block every 5 days and start to give consistent rewards.

Pools like mine with much less stake do produce blocks but much much more rarely. But the idea behind is that the total amount of rewards is the same after a year for the one who delegates.

As soon as multi-delegation feature is introduced in Daedalus, the team of Daedalus will give a proper introduction! Do not forget to support by then also small pools.

Happy staking

Best,
Johann

2 Likes

Hi Johann,

I’m only just running the Daedalus Mainnet 3.3, still syncing.

Sorry, sounds a little daunting, so I just wait till it’s fully synced and then click on the delegation center tab and choose a pool? That correct?

Thanks for the help!

Hi Craig,

exactly.

Once you choose a pool you will need to go through a 3 step dialog.

1. wallet selection
  2. Stake pool selection
  3. Delegation confirmation

Daedalus is only for the desktop never download it on your mobile devices app store or similar. Unfortunately because of the bull run many scams were online and introduced fake Daedalus.

Best,
Johann

just don’t delegate to bigger pools, try to find new and fresh ones to support.