If I delete my wallet


#1

Hi all! <3 this community.

I just have a simple question that I hope can be answered. So I moved all my ADA to the Daedalus Wallet and have backed up and set up a password. Every time I open up the client my wallet shows up with my balance. I don’t feel comfortable with the wallet displaying this information just cause I’m skeptical about my computer being compromised.
If I were to hit the “delete this wallet” button would I still be able to recover my coins thru my seed and passowrd?

THank you all!

ADA TO THE MOON! :slight_smile:


#2

All you need is the seed to recover. If you recovered from a backup of the wallet, then you would need the spending pass, if you have backed up the wallet after setting the pass.


#3

Also just to add more information on the subject.

From the Daedalus Wallet FAQ

How do I backup my wallet?

To backup your wallet, you’ll need a recovery phrase which is 12 words you’ve received at the wallet creation. To restore the wallet, click “Add Wallet” select “Restore” and type in your recovery phrase.


#4

I deleted the wallet. Tested the recovery seed. Recovered the wallet and deleted it again. Everything is good! Thank you all!


#5

so when you delete your wallet in setting area, uninstall daedalus wallet, after that you install again so can get back your ADA coin?


#6

@millionare You will be able to recover your personal wallet with your 12 word passphrase backup. When you create a wallet they ask you to write down a 12 word sentence, that’s your seed, as long as you have those words in that exact order you will be able to get your ADA, even if you delete Daedalus.


#7

thank you @Hershel. ADA to the moon