Issue Installing Daedalus Wallet: Windows SmartScreen

Hello, new user here. I downloaded the Daedalus Wallet and got the following message:

Is there a reason why windows 8.1 considers the Daedalus wallet to be from an unrecognized publisher? I am new to cryptocurrencies in general, but have read everywhere to beware of malware. Is there an argument why I should distrust what Microsoft is telling me here?

Thanks in advance.

It’s safe. Not all publishers have gotten around to going through Microsoft’s procedures. In fact, I’d say from personal experience (20 yrs supporting Windows users), generally speaking only the “big names” have.

I would urge you to make sure that you downloaded the software through the official channels, just to be safe. I have no problem with Daedalus on win10.

1 Like

The file name is correct, i checked it earlier today. But you’re right, people need to be sure they have the right installer and not a malicious one.

Do you think people would benefit if they posted checksums of files along with download links? It would be good to have a simple way to do that operation for a non-technical person.

Well, asking where they got the installer from after checking the file name is the first thing i should do. Not sure if checksums are helpful for non-tech people.

The process I followed went as followed:

https://www.cardano.org/en/the-daedalus-wallet/ —> Clicked the Download button

Arrived at: https://daedaluswallet.io/
Clicked the menu header item: <DOWNLOAD “new”>

Directed to: https://daedaluswallet.io/#download
Clicked the <Windows - Version 0.10.1> button
Which Initiated download from:
https://s3-ap-southeast-1.amazonaws.com/update-cardano-mainnet.iohk.io/daedalus-0.10.1-cardano-sl-1.2.1.7310.0-mainnet-windows.exe

Looks good to me. Really, there’s a big difference between MS saying something’s not known to them, and an antivirus prog or such flagging up an actual issue.