Setting Up Non-Passphrased / Passphrased Accounts on Deadalus via Ledger Nano X

Sorry if a solution to this has been posted, but I’ve searched/read all posts and couldn’t find my specific situation. Just a caveat, I’m new to hot and cold wallets and this will be my first time moving my Cardano off of an exchange to a wallet.

I created a new passphrased wallet (25th word) on my Nano X. I then installed the Cardano app. I have the Daedalus Wallet fully installed/syced but when trying to pair the Ledger wallet in Daedalus, I noticed the public key account number is the same both under the non-passphrased account as well as when I enter the passphrase (I only use the “set temporary passphrase” method, not the attach to PIN code method). I tried with the non-passphrased and passphrased modes before clicking on the pair to wallet. Is this happening because I’ve really only created one Cardano account (or public key) under the passphrased wallet?

I can’t tell which account I’m pairing to. I’ve read that the Ledger Nano will only hold one Cardano key. Is this the private or public key? I may not understand how it functions.

Since Cardano isn’t supported in Ledger Live I don’t know if you can create a Cardano account under the non-passphrased account.

I would like my major/long term Cardano holdings on the passphrased account. This passphrased account is where I will also be staking my Cardano from and ensuring I’m pairing the correct account. My non-passphrased account (24 words) will have a smaller amount ( “play” account). It’s a little easier to see this in Ledger Live with supported coins like ETH because you can see the address.

Thanks for any help!

Hi,

Ledger will export only the public key to daedalus.
Now if u want to have multiple wallets u will need to use passphrases (or PIN), one for each wallet (u can use also one wallet without passphrase). Each passphrase used it will generate a new wallet and also a new set of keys…