Staking reward seems very low

I am confused.

My pool 1PCT9 displays over a 5% return.

Take out a mere 340 Ada from the overall pool. Got that.

Let’s say I have 50,000 Ada. At about 4% (5%minus 1% fee, I should get 2,000 per year - about. 2000 /52 weeks is about 38 per week. I got about 14 last week.

This is an example of what happens almost every week.

Obviously I misunderstand something

I know they say an epoch is every 5 days. I would rephrase that as “every week” - only 52 epoch’s per year.

I thank the well informed admins that always volunteer to respond and clear up these muddy things in my mind. Thanks in advance.

I’ll let others deal with the main issue (that pool doesn’t seem to be doing very well but I’m no expert) but just on this point, the fee is 1% of 5%, which works out at 4.95%, not 4%.

Thanks. It “appears” better than TRUE which shows 3.6% and the fee is higher.

I appreciate the article. In my mind, this article talks more or less about the chances of a pool getting to create stuff.

When you look on the statistics for the pools, it gives an average return based on the past 30 days.

I’m not asking the odds of the pool getting it, in fact I can show out of how many blocks they produced 114% or 72%. Number wise though, it just doesn’t add up to that return That they display

This post has been deleted

It may be worthwhile noting that there are 365/5=73 epochs per year

3 Likes

Not sure exactly what you’re talking about here – or even if “you” is me! – but as I said above, I’ll let others come in on this.

I deleted it because in another post you had suggested I not share the number of Ada I had.

The bottom line is even using me estimated rewards from the ADA calculator on the Cardona website, I am extremely far from getting when I am “supposed to earn”.

The number between the calculator on their website and what I actually received is about 20% of what their calculator shows I should be receiving.