Vagrant/Virtualbox not working on Debian 11

I followed Debian.org’s instructions to install Virtualbox, which while installing tells me Failed to start LSB: VirtualBox Linux kernel module. Other forums suggest disabling secure boot; mine’s already disabled. I have DKMS. I’m not a super beginner to Linux but I do seem to run into seemingly random issues. I plan to run multiple Cardono nodes in these VMs. Maybe it’d be better to use Docker/Podman but I’m not as familiar with them. sudo systemctl status virtualbox shows failed.

If you want to run multiple virtual machines on Debian, I would recommend KVM rather than VirtualBox.

You may want to have the virtual machines communicate over their own virtual network so you probably want bridge-utils package

apt install bridge-utils

Installing kvm on debian is quite easy and works pretty much out of the box

Check first that your hardware virtualisation extensions are enabled:

grep --color --perl-regexp 'vmx|svm' /proc/cpuinfo

egrep -c '(vmx|svm)' /proc/cpuinfo

Install kvm tools

apt install --no-install-recommends qemu-kvm libvirt-clients libvirt-daemon-system virtinst

On a secure server you will only want the stuff you need and not a graphical interface. Hence the above “–no-install-recommends” so apt doesn’t try to install gnome and all its boatload of dependencies. If you are just experimenting on your own PC then you can remove that switch if you want to pull in the graphical tools for installing and configuring virtual machines.

If you are looking to run a stake pool then you need to strongly consider security. You need to have a well written firewall preferably using nftables. You will also need to setup networking so that the host machine acts as a router with packet forwarding enabled.

There are lots of well written tutorials on how to setup and configure kvm virtual machines on Debian.

1 Like