VPS + home server?

Hi, I want to run stake pool on a VPS. My question is simple:

Is it advised/secure to run the BP node and the two relays on three different servers of a VPS?

OR

Is it better to have the BP node at home/office and only the relays in the VPS?

The question rises from the thought that the BP node should not be “open” to the internet and only connected to the relays. Therefore, if the BP node is in a VPS, isn’t it as (un)protected as running the relays and BP node in the same server?

Which option would be preferable:

A) Relays AND BP on a VPS (each in a different server)
B) BP at “home” and relays on a VPS

I hope I’ve explained myself, excuse my terminology, I’m kind of new to this world. Thanks for your help :slight_smile:

They’re technically both the same security if they’re setup the same. The home server setup might be considered less secure depending on the operator. As in, someone who is using an ISP provided router wouldn’t be considered as secure as one run by a well known Hosting company.

With a VPS, as long as “shared memory” is disabled then it’s considered reasonably secure (once again depending on the setup).

The idea with the BP is to not expose the IP and to firewall it so on the relays can see it. Since the BP holds the keys, you want it protected as much as possible.

2 Likes

Personally, I’d leave your BP and a few relays on VPS and then have a relay on a home PC if you want to “cut down” on costs. Most people wouldn’t be able to guarantee to be up all the time with a home setup, but it’s definitely what some people prefer to do.

1 Like

I see… It makes sense. The vulnerability would be connecting from my home to the BP via SSH right? Is it possible to connect to the BP through the relays using them as jump servers? So that no one can see/access the BP. Or is this step useless?

In the case they manage to penetrate the relays, would the BP be compromised?

Thank you so much!