Material handling as a side chain

Guy’s I am not big on the tech side of thing’s, trying to work through what the best route for a useful application on Cardano would look like as a side chain - bear with me here.
What I would like to work on is the global database of Material Test Record’s (MTR’s) and I will give you a little bit of my what I do now to that has brought my interest to it.
I work as a Material Handler in the gas and oil industry, I currently have to maintain a record of metalurgic MTR’S from forges around the globe for the material that is used in the process of developing gas and oil in a project I am working on in my industry, before i knew what the MTR’s were for I was witness to other’s downplaying the importance of them -essentially downplaying the safety of other people that would be working in this field and what I witnessed was possible forging of MTR’s so they could continue to finish their job, now that I understand what kind of work it is to maintain a chain of custody concerning the material being used and how important it is to have the correct MTR’s to verify a safe workplace for other’s I would like to find a way to implement blockchain technology into MTR tracking for the gas and oil industry.