NFT art on Cardano blockchain?

Hey there,

I’m an artist based in New Zealand (and also a cardano delegator :slight_smile:

I’m interested in creating art that I can put on the cardano blockchain. (Note - i’m not very code savvy, coming at this from an artist’s perspective, so please bear with me if I get things wrong.) Reading through the roadmap, it sounds like something that might happen in the Goguen era? Next year maybe?

What would be ideal, is a marketplace with the following functions:

1. To be able to sell works of art, or editions/series
  2. A royalty system - artists can get a percentage of future re-sales
  3. some way of seeing how the art travels, if its accumulating in price as it is resold etc

If anyone has any idea of timing with the above, let me know :slight_smile:

Maybe the above will just get wrapped into a site like Rarible ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Thanks!

5 Likes

welcome @Hansmoleman - I also have interests along these lines, but since I have no way of knowing when functional Smart Contracts will be fully implemented, or when we will be able to create new tokens on an actual multi-asset ledger, I would have the same questions as you (& we all do) about the roadmap & in the meantime am learning to develop smart contracts that will do most of the things above.

At some point after those milestones there should be a mass migration of Ethereum tokens like RARI to the Cardano blockchain. Periodically on this forum the marketing people & the Foundation announce that big Ethereum apps based on blockchain services have lined up for this, so I would keep following announcements like that.

Along with the multi-asset ledger will come a facility to migrate the Ethereum tokens directly to Cardano, so maybe Rarible will convert RARI as such & re-base their enterprise on Cardano, or support both. One motivation for blockchain app providers to do this are the massive transaction fees on Ethereum.